Sorry, this event’s been and gone
The Zephyr Ensemble - Soiree of Three


Fri Aug 12 2016, 7:30pm–9:10pm

Where: Esplanade Recital Studio , 1 Esplanade Drive, Marina Bay, Singapore

Restrictions: All ages

Ticket Information:

  • General Admission: $20.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Listed by: MS-Works

Full Synopsis
Soirée of Three will be highlighting music from the Piano Trio repertory, a genre that is often overshadowed by others such as the symphonies and string quartets. The listeners will be taken on a journey from the classical era through to the 20th century, from Austria to America, as The Zephyr Ensemble brings in music from the West, unveiling the most beloved and celebrated piano trios from four master composers of different periods and nationalities. From Haydn’s light-hearted melody with a twist of Gypsy music, to Mendelssohn’s heart-wrenching themes and devilish virtuosity; from Saint-Saëns‘s naïve spirit and brilliance in writing, to Schoenfield’s humorous yet serious music combining jazz and classical traditions, the soiree promises to be a night of emotional connections and sublime discovery, bringing you an exuberant and enlightening experience.

Short Synopsis
A soirée unveiling four of the most celebrated piano trios through a journey from Classical to 20th-century, from Austria to America.


Piano Trio No.39 in G Major, Hob.XV:25 - Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
I. Andante
II. Poco adagio, cantabile
III. Rondo a I’Ongarese: Presto
(Duration: 15 minutes)

Piano Trio No.1 in D minor, Op.49 - Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
I. Molto allegro ed agitato     
II. Andante con moto tranquillo
III. Scherzo: Leggiero e vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro assai appassionato
(Duration: 30 minutes)


Piano Trio No.1 in F Major, Op.18 - Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
I. Allegro vivace      
II. Andante
III. Scherzo: Presto
IV. Allegro
(Duration: 25 minutes)

Café Music - Paul Schoenfield (b.1947)
I. Allegro           
II. Rubato - Andante moderato
III. Presto
(Duration: 16 minutes)

Total duration: 1 hour 40 minutes (with 10 minutes intermission)

Notes on Tonight’s Music

Tonight’s journey starts in Austria with one of the most prolific and prominent composers of the Classical period, Franz Joseph Haydn. Haydn was born on May 31, 1732 in Rohrau, Austria, a village that stood on the border of Hungary. His long-term position as a Kapellmeister with the  Esterházy family, a Hungarian noble family also meant that he was exposed to Gypsy music and Hungarian folk tunes, which brings no surprises when we hear a Gypsy Rondo in the final movement of the Piano Trio No.39 in G Major. Nicknamed the “Gypsy Trio” because of its finale, this work continues to be one of Haydn’s most famous piano trios, and is part of a set of three London Piano Trios that Haydn wrote during his visit to London in 1795, where he met Rebecca Schroeter, with whom he had a romantic relationship with and to whom the trios were dedicated to.

The trio opens with a light-hearted melody played by the piano and violin. The first movement is in the form of theme and variations, alternating between major and minor keys and gradually builds excitement as we move through the variations. A cantabile theme in the piano opens the second movement, and the melody is later answered by the violin. Then comes the celebrated gypsy rondo in the final movement. The heavily accented, fierce Gypsy theme takes over the movement with unprepared shifts between major and minor keys that is over in a flash.