Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Exhibition of Early & Modern Singapore Paintings


Wed Apr 13 2016, 10:00am–10:00pm
Thu Apr 14 2016, 10:00am–10:00pm
Fri Apr 15 2016, 10:00am–10:00pm
Sat Apr 16 2016, 10:00am–10:00pm
Sun Apr 17 2016, 10:00am–10:00pm

Where: ION Art Gallery, Orchard Turn, Orchard Road, Singapore

Restrictions: All ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free


Listed by: kagbisit

Calling all local art aficionados – ION Art presents a curation of rare artworks from some of the most influential Singaporean artists in the last fifty years.

Drawing inspiration from traditional kampong-style scenes of Balinese women, attap villages, and even the humble batik dress, Singapore’s pioneer artists lay the foundations of the Nanyang art movement. From watercolour to impressionist-style oil paintings, these artists of yesteryear shaped the early forms of local art and tell stories of the golden eras in Singapore’s history.

Regarded as an influential artist of the early Singapore art scene, Cheong Soo Pieng is best known for his iconic ‘Drying Salted Fish’ painting, featured on the back of the $50 note. In this Exhibition of Early & Modern Singapore Paintings, his 1967 piece entitled ‘Landscape’ will be on display.

Two other forerunners of the local arts scene include 2006 recipient of the Cultural Medallion Award, Tan Choh Tee, as well as Lee Hock Moh, whose ‘Orchids’ piece will showcased during the exhibition.

To add to the rich artistic prowess of the exhibition, a selection of contemporary Southeast Asian paintings from Singapore, Malaysia and Vietnam will also be on display. The artists include Hong Sek Chern, Hoe Say Yong and Bui Cong Khanh. In a potpourri of artistic styles and subjects, this collection will display the diversity and richness of culture in the region.

A vernissage of the exhibition will be held on 9 April, from 4:00 to 6:00pm. The list of featured artists is as follows:
Cheong Soo Pieng, Chen Wen Hsi, Lim Cheng Hoe, Lee Hock Moh, Choo Keng Kwang, Seah Kim Joo, Teng Nee Cheong, Tay Chee Toh, Tan Choh Tee, Lim Tze Peng, Hong Sok Chern, Anthony Chua, Ler Hock Chuan, Tay Shuh Fung, Bai Tianyuan; Hoe Say Yong (Malaysia); Aung Myint, Win Pe, Min Wae Aung, Aung Ko (Myanmar); Nguyen Trung, Ha Manh Thang and Bui Cong Khanh (Vietnam).