Sorry, this event’s been and gone
SSO - Russian Nights


Sat Sep 27 2014, 7:30pm

Where: Esplanade Concert Hall , 1 Esplanade Drive, Marina Bay, Singapore

Restrictions: All ages

Ticket Information:

  • VIP Box: $75.00
  • Standard: $75.00
  • Standard: $60.00
  • Standard: $45.00
  • Standard: $32.00
  • Standard: $22.00
  • Standard: $15.00
  • Additional fees may apply

Related Artists:

Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Gennady Rozhdestvensky, conductor
Viktoria Postnikova, piano

Liadov From the Apocalypse, Op. 66
Glazunov Piano Concerto No. 1 in F minor, Op. 92
Shostakovich Symphony No. 15 in A major, Op. 141

Shostakovich's final symphony, the Fifteenth, has long been an enigma to critics and audiences, particularly in the obvious, repeated quotes in the first movement from Rossini's William Tell Overture. The spotlight also falls on Glazunov's seldom-performed First Piano Concerto, which consists of a lyrical, melancholic first movement followed by a set of variations, each with a distinctive character and flavour. It was during his late years that Liadov composed the fragment From the Apocalypse for a tone-poem to be based on Russian folklore. Sadly, the full work would remain uncompleted at his death.