Sorry, this event’s been and gone
Singapore Airlines International Cup


Sun May 19 2013, 3:00pm

Where: Singapore Racecourse, 1 Turf Club Ave, Kranji, Singapore

Restrictions: All ages

Ticket Information:

  • Upper & Lower Grandstand: $6.00
  • Additional fees may apply

The inaugural Singapore Airlines International Cup (SIA Cup) was held on March 4, 2000, in conjunction with the official opening of the new Singapore Racecourse at Kranji. With a purse of S$3 million up for grabs, the race, unsurprisingly, attracted some of the best horses from the four corners of the globe. Jim And Tonic from France, Sea Wave from the United Arab Emirates, Oriental Express from Hong Kong and Showboat from the United Kingdom, were some of the globetrotters that flew into Singapore to make up the stellar field for the 2000 metre race.

In a finish that will go down on record as one of the most remarkable milestones in Singapore’s horseracing history, the first edition went to a locally-trained, Ouzo. The New Zealand-bred by Oregon did Singapore proud by producing an astounding turn of foot to deny Jim And Tonic victory by a neck. The ground-breaking win gave his proud owners Madam Shirley Yap and Mr Tan Peng Quee of Eres Tu Stable the rare privilege of lifting the trophy before a “live” world audience estimated at 2 billion viewers.
Ouzo has however been the only locally-trained horse to capture the SIA Cup. In the subsequent 11 editions (the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) outbreak forced the cancellation of the 2003 edition) winners hailing from the four corners of the globe have flashed past the Kranji winning post as the race has grown in stature.

In 2001, the race was awarded International Group 1 status and the following year nominated as the third leg of the World Series Racing Championship.

There have been 12 individual winners from eight different countries (Singapore, England, United Arab Emirates, Germany, Australia, Japan, South Africa and France) adding their names to the honour roll. Among them, Grandera (2002) and Epalo (2004) being the only two SIA Cup winners to have gone on to win the World Champion title under the now defunct World Series Racing Championship series.

Last year Chinchon became the second French winner joining the 2009 victor Gloria De Campeao, in scoring easily under Olivier Doleuze.